…Constitutes Advisory Council, Others, as Association prepares for its 30th Anniversary of Gracious life after Oriwu College.

Publisher of MegaXpression Magazine, Mr Shakiru Seidu has been sworn-in as the fourth Chairman, Oriwu College Old Students’ Association, OCOSAN, 1991/92 Class-Set, on Monday, December 27, 2021, at Dof Hotel Ikorodu, Lagos.

Seidu is a former Legislative Aide in the Lagos State House of Assembly, former Special Adviser on Media to the Chairman, Igbogbo/ Bayeku LCDA and Winner of CommunityMedia Personality of the Year 2021 in Ikorodu Division among others.

Magistrate Olawunmi Ojuola, sworn in Seidu and other Executive Members to pilot the affairs of the Association for the next two years, commending the efforts made by the past executives on the way they conducted the inauguration and described the event as peaceful.

Ojuola, therefore advised Seidu’s led Executive to show commitment in its emergence, so as to take the Association to the next level.

Other Executive Members Sworn-in are:
-Shittu Saheed- Vice-chairman
-Kehinde Owoeye- Secretary
-Sola Obabiyi – Asst. Secretary
-Muraina Sanni- Media Director
-Erinle Babatunde- Director of welfare
-Kausara Jimoh- Financial Secretary
-Tope Adeyoola- Director of Social Affairs
-Adedoyin Oyemade- Head of Legal Service
-Kafilat Olukoga- Treasurer
-Bose Bissong – Ex-officio
-Wande Awolesi- Auditor
-Fatimo Fatola- Ex-officio
-Segun Adio- Diaspora director
-Chinyere Oyinyechi Saka- Diaspora Director.

In his acceptance speech, Shakiru Seidu commended those who had worked assiduously towards his emergence. “We could not have succeeded without you all, the essence of great leadership is influencing not authority. Therefore, I look forward to working with you all to advance issues of importance to our Class-Set,” he said.

Seidu further stated: “I take on these new responsibilities knowing that I stand on the sturdy shoulders of dedicated members. I believe that I could represent you guys when in need and take charge when necessary.

“I implore every member to please give us the necessary support to serve you in actualization of the set goals to the benefit of all. We are open to advice, corrections and guide at any point in time as we cannot do it alone.

The Chairman constituted an “ASSOCIATION’S ADVISORY COUNCIL”, (AAC), which comprises names of nine dedicated members, which include Kunle Olambiwonnu as Chairman, Jamiu Afolabi, Sanni Muraina, Akeem Oreagba, Idiat Ojuolape, Lateef Bello, Sherifat Onilere, Goke Ohunomojusi and Yetunde Balogun as Members.

He said the eight great individuals will serve as Advisory body to the Executive and meetings would be held with them periodically to ratify decisions taken by the Exco.

Seidu equally constituted a 21-Man Planning Committee for the 30th Anniversary of the Class-Set, reiterating that their plans are subject to approval of the Executive. The list includes:

  1. Akeem Oreagba (Chairman)
  2. Saheed Shittu (Secretary)
  3. Ojuolape Ademoye
  4. Obinna Kingsley
  5. Onileere Sherifat
  6. Tunji Adaralegbe
  7. Sekinat Kasali
  8. Jamiu Afolabi
  9. Brig. General MO Ibrahim
  10. Lateef Erinle
  11. Lateef Bello
  12. Funmilola Ogunsanwo
  13. Seye Sanni
  14. Gbenga Kalejaiye
  15. Saheedat Raheem
  16. Bolanle Omotosho
  17. Tope Adeyoola Adeboyejo
  18. Segun Adio
  19. Chinyere Augustine
  20. Arch. Jamiu Alimi

The Chairman further assured members of well detailed financial activities, noting that all payments shall be deposited into the Association’s account to the last Kobo, while expenses shall be made through withdrawal from Bank. He promised to constitute a Board of Trustees, BoT, that will stand as Pillars and assist the Association in cushioning some of its burdens.

Also speaking at the event, the former Ag. Commissioner for Tourism, Arts and Culture and Member, Lagos Seventh Assembly, Hon. Adebimpe Akinsola, applauded the Association for their consistency and ability to get themselves together. She enjoined the Association to equally honour those teachers who equally thought them in school.

Also, the Chairman, Igbogbo/ Bayeku LCDA, Builder Olusesan Daini, who was ably represented by his Chief of Staff, Mr Adewale Bolowotan and the Councillor, Ward C2, Igbogbo, Hon. Hakeem Sholawon, congratulated the Seidu’s led Executive, saying that the Association had truly made the right choice.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *