The Management of Lagos State Polytechnic have decided to maintain its culture of academic and administrative excellence as the Rector, Mr Samuel Sogunro revealed that all the 26th convocation graduating students will collect their passports on the graduation day.

The Rector also disclosed that 6,355 students who have successfully completed their National and Higher National Diploma programmes of the Lagos State Polytechnic will be graduating at the institution’s 26th convocation ceremony to be held on March 8, 2018 at the Ikorodu Campus of the polytechnic.

Reeling out some of the achievements of the school management in the last one year, the Rector, Samuel Oluyinka Sogunro listed some of the achievements to include, Completion of LASPOTECH FM 101.9 Radio station; Signing of MoU with Ikeja Electric for the establishment of a mini power sub-station on Ikorodu Campus to provide uninterrupted power supply and re-accreditation of the polytechnic to operate as JAMB CBT Centre.

Other achievements listed by the Rector are, Large scale cassava farm plantation, fabrication of equipment and the emergence of the Polytechnic as the overall best at the 2017 edition of Nigeria Polytechnic Games (NIPOGA) in Nassarawa.

According to a press statement made available to journalists at the event, the week-long convocation ceremony will kick-off with an inter-denominational programme on Thursday, March 1st, 2018. This will be followed by Jumat service on Friday, 2nd March. The Polytechnic will host a Convocation Dinner at the Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Ikeja on Saturday, 3rd March.

The convocation lecture  titled, ‘Crises of Governance, Governance of Crisis: The role of Education in Nibbling Governance Crises in Nigeria’ will be delivered by a former labour leader and immediate past governor of Edo State, Comrade Adams Oshiomole.

The convocation proper will take place at the Convocation ground of the polytechnic’s Ikorodu Campus on Thursday, 8th March, 2018 with the Lagos state governor, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode as the Special Guest of Honour.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *