Today,  Tuesday 15th December 2020 will remain historic in the political history of Lagos State, and Lagos East Senatorial district in particular.

This is because, the Senator-Elect from the zone, Mr Tokunbo Abiru has formally taken his seat among distinguished senators of the federal republic of Nigeria at the red chamber.

Senate President, Senator Ahmad Lawan on Tuesday swore-in Senator Tokunbo Abiru, representing Lagos East Senatorial District alongside other three new senators recently elected through bye-elections held on Saturday December 5th in states across the country.

The new Senators include Senator Adetokunbo Abiru (Lagos East), Senator Henry Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa West), Senator Cleopas Moses (Bayelsa Central) and Senator Nora Ladi Dadu’ut (Plateau South.

The Clerk to the Senate, Ibrahim El-Ladan administered the Oath of Office and Oath of Allegiance on the new Senators in accordance with Nigerian constitution.

Meanwhile, Abiru has released his first official statement as the Senator representing the good people of Lagos East Senatorial District.

‘Today, I was inaugurated into the Nigerian Senate to represent the good people of Lagos East Senatorial District’.

‘As I have often emphasised since getting the nomination of our party, the All Progressives Congress, anhis firsrd the confirmation through the ballot on December 5, 2020, that I will be holding this position in trust for the people of my district and Lagos State to serve in good conscience and unalloyed commitment’, he said.

The Senator further stressed that, ‘there  is a lot of job to be done and I know with God’s grace and your support, we shall have cause to rejoice at the end’, he concluded.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *