The Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, in Lagos State, Pastor Cornelius Ojelabi on Wednesday, led some key members of the party executives to the Ikorodu Constituency office of Senator Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru for a crucial meeting with Senator Abiru’s over 2,000 Canvassers from Kosofe and Somolu LGAs.

The Canvassers operate under the auspices of East Consultative Forum,ECF, an independent Campaign group that is complementing the party’s voters mobilisation drive in the Lagos East Senatorial District.

Senator Abiru (M) flanked by other APC Chieftains

There are over 4,000 Canvassers engaged by Senator Abiru to mobilise voters to vote for all the APC candidates in the February 25 and March 11, 2023 general elections.

Similar sensitisation sessions were held for Canvassers from Ikorodu, Epe, Ibeju Lekki. 

Senator Tokunbo Abiru in his remarks, appealed to the Canvassers to intensify voters mobilisation exercise across Kosofe, Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Somolu Bariga and by extension, the 98 wards in the 16 LGAs/LCDAs under Lagos East.

Senator Abiru at the meeting

According to the Senator, It is imperative for the party to have a large voter turnout that will boost the number of votes for APC, particularly, the presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu. 

He reiterated that ECF is not in competition with the party, but complementing the efforts of the party in mobilizing voters to vote for all APC. Senator Abiru said respect for the party and its structures remained sacrosanct.

He disclosed further that campaign sourvenirs were first given to the party before getting to the Canvesers and their coordinators across the Lagos East Senatorial District.

Senator Abiru (L) in a chat with the Party Chairman, Pastor Ojelabi

The Party Chairman, Pastor Ojelabi said Senator Tokunbo Abiru has shown that he is indeed a loyal party man, who is genuinely seeking the success of the party at the polls. According to him, Senator Abiru has strenthened the confidence of the party members through his robust reward system that gets to beneficiaries directly.

Pastor Ojelabi said Senator Abiru has re-enacted the what the Holy Bible says in Revelation 22 vs 12, … “And, behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be”. He assured that Canvassers who diligently mobilize andd ensure that voters vote for all APC Candidates will get the reward as promised by the #DoingGood Senator.

Cross section of the canvassers

“The Senator has done. He has given to Ceasar what belongs to Ceasar and we should ensure that will highest numbers of votes for the APC in Lagos. The Party Chairman said that Senator Abiru has delivered exceptionally well on his mandate in the last 25 months he has been in the saddle. 

“I have been to Senator Abiru Innovation Lab (SAIL), the first of its kind Innovation Hub in this district that is focused on Human Capital Development of young people. Senator Abiru’s achievements in just two years are just mind-blowing”, Pastor Ojelabi said at the meeting.

Chairman, Agboyi-Ketu, LCDA, Mayor Dele Osinowo also charged Canvassers and party members and supporters to work harder for the party and get more eligible voters to vote for APC. He said the ECF initiative and its reward system for members are novel. Osinowo said, “The support the Senator has given to the party is unprecendeted in the history of the Lagos East.  

Some of the canvassers in the overflow

Other party leaders in attendance include: Hon (Mrs) Oladunjoye Olayinka, Vice-Chairman, Lagos East APC, Hon Abiodun Aigbe, Lagos APC Treaurer, Hon (Mrs) Animawun Adejumoke, Assistant Secretary, Lagos APC, Dr Murital Seriki, Lagos APC Youth Leader, Ogboni Fouad Oki, Engr. Adekunle Olayinka, Director, Volunteer and Support Group, State Campaign Council.

Hon Rotimi Abiru, Lagos State House of Assembly member(Somolu Constituency 2), Chairperson, Ikosi-Isheri, LCDA, Hon (Princess) Samiat Abolanle Bada, Chairman, Kosofe LGA, Barrister Moyosore Ogunlewe, Hon(Mrs) Kafilat Ogbara, Dr Saheed Oladapo Ibikunle, Hon(Princess) Adebimpe Akinsola, Alhaja Ogunniyi Hon Segun Oladapo(Oscar) and Hon. Gbenga Nollah amongst others. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *