Following the recent outbreak of cult clashes and criminal activities across Ikorodu Local Governmen, the Wasiu Adeshina-led administration has inaugurated a Local  government Peace & Security Committee, with the mandate to make recommendations to the Council on the causes and far-reaching solutions towards restoring peace to the LGA.

Addressing a selected group of community and security stakeholders at the Council Secretariat, at a Security meeting on Monday, 18th January the Council Chairman, Hon Wasiu Adeshina lamented the latest security situation in the LGA and pledged his administration’s commitment towards ensuring the return of peace and security to the local government.

Apart from the issue of insecurity, the Committee chaired by the Secretary to the Local Government, Mr Lateef Afinnih is also saddled with the mandate to address the issues of traffic gridlocks, illegal parkings and all forms of  lawlessnessa the local government, with a view to restoring sanity to the council area.

In the view of the Executive Chairman, street trading and traffic gridlocks are twin contributors to the security breaches currently being experienced in the LGA.

Members of the newly constituted committe are, Mr Lateef Afinnih (Chairman) and Mr Bambo Kazeem (Secretary).

Other members of the Committee are, Reps of the DPO Sagamu Road Police Station, Mr Oladele Charles, CSP Adeyemi Balogun, DPO Igbogbo Police Station, Mr Omideye Ibrahim, Commander Civil Defense Corps, CS Ibrahim Sanni, Coordinator, LNSC, Chief Olukuga Ola Baale Ojogbe who represents the Ayangburen of Ikorodu and Chief Imam Ikorodu Division, His Eminence Sherifdeen Olowooribi.

The Committee is expected to turn in it’s report to the Executive Chairman within the next one week of its inauguration for immediate implementation.

Ikorodu local government had been in the news for the wrong reasons in recent times, due to cult clashes and activities of traffic robbers with residents calling out political office holders from the local government to rise up to their responsibilities.

Hon Lateef Afinnih, Committee Chairman


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *